The power of blend maps (or whatever they’re called)

First off, I don’t actually know whether it’s called a blendmap, that’s just what I call it,
what I mean is a grayscale texture that is used to dynamically blend 2 images.

in it’s simplest form, a single numerical value defines the clipping value; for each pixel of the blendmap, if the luminosity is higher than the clipping value image1 is used, otherwise it’s image2.
Most often though, I don’t want a hard cut like that, so instead I use 1 value that roughly determines how much of image1 to use (_BlendAmount), and 1 value that defines the sharpness of the transition (_EdgeSharpness).
Which looks something like this:

float blend = blendColor + (_BlendAmount * 2 – 1);
blend = saturate(blend * _EdgeSharpness – (_EdgeSharpness – 1) * 0.5f);
result = lerp(color1, color2, blend);

Now this might not seem like much, in fact it’s pretty much just an alphamap.
But it’s strenght comes from the fact that it’s great for dynamic transitions from one image to another, in time and/or space, and that’s usefull for a lot of things.
And it’s quite simple and cheap, which is also a good thing.

For example, I used this to make a snow material, that would blend in snow with the diffuse texture, based on the surface normal, using the blendmap in the snow’s alpha channel.
And for fading HUD overlays (like the Frost Effect, and blood splatter when taking damage).

Usage in games

The first time I came into contact with this technique, was when I saw the snow in Uncharted 2 (on the internet, I never actually played the game).
They seem to be using blendmaps for the transition between snow and ground/rocks. (which gave me the idea to make a snow material)

And I believe a lot of games also use blendmaps in general for transition between terrain textures, which looks a lot better than the default fading.
(Which should actually be a little more complex, as it’s not just blending 2 textures, but any number)

But the weird thing is that I can’t seem to find anything about it, I mean, actual documentation (or just even how it’s called),
but maybe that’s just cause I’m terrible at finding things on the internet.

One thought on “The power of blend maps (or whatever they’re called)

Leave a Reply

